Booker Prize Winner 2024: Longlist ,£50000 Prize, Winner Prediction

Sri Lankan author Shehan Karunatilak has been awarded the Booker Prize 2022 for his second novel The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida. The 47-year-old author is the second after Michael Ondaatje to be awarded the award in 1992 for ‘The English Patient’, to win a literary prize of £50,000 (GBP) at a ceremony in London on October 2023.

The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida. is the story of the photographer of its title, who, after his death in 1990, reaches a place that looks like a visa office in heaven. Not knowing what killed him, Mali has seven moons to approach the people he loves the most. In the meantime, there seems to be a plethora of pictures of the atrocities of the civil war in his hands, which if they come to the fore, will shake the country.

Booker Prize Winner 2024

Booker Prize Winner will be announced soon and the Last year’s Winner Sri Lankan author Shehan Karunatilaka on October 2022 Monday has become the Booker Prize Winner in 2022 for the novel. Karunatilaka has been given this award for the book The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida. The official verified Twitter handle of the Booker Prize tweeted that we are happy to announce that the winner of the Booker Prize 2022 is Shehan Karunatilaka. The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida. is the second novel by Shehan Karunatilaka.

The novel is a raucous, poignantly funny satire set in the midst of the deadly devastation of Sri Lanka beset by civil war. Shehan Karunatilaka is one of the best writers in Sri Lanka and apart from his novels, he has also written songs, screenplays, and travel stories. The Sri Lankan author started thinking about it in 2009 after the end of the civil war. Then there was a heated debate over how many civilians were killed and whose fault it was.

Johnny Depp Net Worth

Elon Musk Net Worth

Liz Truss Net Worth

Amber Heard Net Worth

Booker Prize 2023 Nominees 

TitleOriginal languageAuthorAuthor NationalityTranslatorTranslator NationalityUK Imprint
BoulderCatalanEva BaltasarCatalanJulia SanchesBrazilianAnd Other Stories
WhaleKoreanCheon Myeong-kwanKoreanChi-Young KimKorean/ AmericanEuropa Editions
The Gospel According to the New WorldFrenchMaryse CondéFrenchRichard PhilcoxBritishWorld Editions
Standing HeavyFrench GauZ’ IvorianFrank WynneIrishMacLehose Press
Time ShelterBulgarianGeorgi GospodinovBulgarianAngela RodelAmerican Weidenfeld & Nicolson 
Is Mother DeadNorwegianVigdis HjorthNorwegianCharlotte BarslundBritish/DanishVerso Fiction
Jimi Hendrix Live in LvivRussianAndrey KurkovUkrainianRueben WoolleyBritishMacLehose Press
The Birthday PartyFrenchLaurent MauvignierFrenchDaniel Levin BeckerAmericanFitzcarraldo Editions
While We Were DreamingGermanClemens MeyerGermanKaty DerbyshireBritish/GermanFitzcarraldo Editions
PyreTamilPerumal MuruganIndianAniruddhan VasudevanIndianPushkin Press
Still BornSpanishGuadalupe NettelMexicanRosalind HarveyBritishFitzcarraldo Editions
A System So Magnificent It Is BlindingSwedishAmanda SvenssonSwedishNichola SmalleyBritishScribe UK
Ninth BuildingChineseZou JingzhiChineseJeremy TiangSingaporeanHonford Star

Booker Prize 2022 Nominees 

Shehan Karunatilaka(Winner)The Seven Moons of Maali AlmeidaNovelSri LankaSort of Books
NoViolet BulawayoGloryNovelZimbabwe/USAVintage Publishing
Percival EverettThe TreesNovelUSAInflux Press
Alan GarnerTreacle WalkerNovelEnglandHarperCollins
Claire KeeganSmall Things Like TheseNovelIrelandFaber & Faber
Elizabeth StroutOh, William!NovelUSAPenguin Books

What is a Booker Prize?

Like Oscar Award, Film Fare Award, etc. are awarded for outstanding work in the world of cinema, similarly, many awards are given for better contributions to the field of literature. One of them is Booker Prize and now via this article, we will talk about the Booker Prize and its winner. The Booker Prize is awarded jointly by the Booker Company and the British Publishing Association.

This is a prize that is said to be Britain’s biggest prize given in the field of literature, which comes after the Nobel Prizes. Every year great writers who write books are honored with this award. In this, cash is also provided to the winners along with the prize and apart from this many other facilities are provided to them.

Angela Lanbury Net Worth

Nicki Minaj Net Worth

Loretta Lynn Net Worth

History of the Booker Prize

The Booker Prize was started as the Man Booker International Prize and it was initially a biennial award, and there was no stipulation that the literary work must be written in a language other than English. The prize money for the Booker Prize was originally £21,000 and was increased to £50,000 in 2002.

Booker Prize Winner 2023: Sri Lankan Author Shehan Karunatilak Wins

Indian Booker Prize Winners

V.S. NaipaulIn a Free State1971
Salman RushdieMidnight’s Children1981
Aravind AdigaThe White Tiger2008
Kiran DesaiThe Inheritance of Loss2006
Arundhati RoyThe God of Small Things1997

List of Booker Prize Winners- 1969-2023

YearName of the AuthorBook Title
1969P. H. NewbySomething to Answer For
1970Bernice RubensThe Elected Member
1971V. S. NaipaulIn a Free State
1972John BergerG.
1973J. G. FarrellThe Siege of Krishnapur
1974Nadine GordimerThe Conservationist
1975Ruth Prawer JhabvalaHeat and Dust
1976David StoreySaville
1977Paul ScottStaying On
1978Iris MurdochThe Sea, the Sea
1979Penelope FitzgeraldOffshore
1980William GoldingRites of Passage
1981Salman RushdieMidnight’s Children
1982Thomas KeneallySchindler’s Ark
1983J. M. CoetzeeLife & Times of Michael K
1984Anita BrooknerHotel du Lac
1985Keri HulmeThe Bone People
1986Kingsley AmisThe Old Devils
1987Penelope LivelyMoon Tiger
1988Peter CareyOscar and Lucinda
1989Kazuo IshiguroThe Remains of the Day
1990A. S. ByattPossession
1991Ben OkriThe Famished Road
1992Michael OndaatjeThe English Patient
1993Roddy DoylePaddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha
1994James KelmanHow Late It Was, How Late
1995Pat BarkerThe Ghost Road
1996Graham SwiftLast Orders
1997Arundhati RoyThe God of Small Things
1998Ian McEwanAmsterdam
1999J. M. CoetzeeDisgrace
2000Margaret AtwoodThe Blind Assassin
2001Peter CareyTrue History of the Kelly Gang
2002Yann MartelLife of Pi
2003DBC PierreVernon God Little
2004Alan HollinghurstThe Line of Beauty
2005John BanvilleThe Sea
2006Kiran DesaiThe Inheritance of Loss
2007Anne EnrightThe Gathering
2008Aravind AdigaThe White Tiger
2009Hilary MantelWolf Hall
2010Howard JacobsonThe Finkler Question
2011Julian BarnesThe Sense of an Ending
2012Hilary MantelBring Up the Bodies
2013Eleanor CattonThe Luminaries
2014Richard FlanaganThe Narrow Road to the Deep North
2015Marlon JamesA Brief History of Seven Killings
2016Paul BeattyThe Sellout
2017George SaundersLincoln in the Bardo
2018Anna BurnsMilkman
2019Margaret AtwoodThe Testaments
2020Douglas StuartShuggie Bain
2021Damon GalgutThe Promise
2022Shehan KarunatilakaThe Seven Moons of Maali Almeida
2023 Paul LynchProphet Song
HomepageClick Here